• Andy’s E-BOOK — Photography Travel Guides

  • PLEASE RESPECT COPYRIGHTS!!

    All Images and writing on this blog are copyrighted by Andy Richards. All rights are reserved. You may not, without my express, written permission, download, right click, or otherwise copy my images for any reason. Copying an image and putting it on your blog, website, or even as a screensaver on your computer is a breach of copyright, EVEN IF YOU ATTRIBUTE THE SOURCE! Please do not do so.
  • On This Blog:

  • Categories

  • Andy’s Photography Galleries

    Click Here To See My Gallery of Photographic Images

    LightCentric Photography

  • Andy's Flickr Photos

    Key West, FL Southernmost Beach Resort 01102017000003

    More Photos
  • Prior Posts

  • Posts By Date

    December 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  

COMING “HOME” FOR CHRISTMAS

In March of 2008, I started Blogging here at WordPress.  Less than a year later, in early 2009, I moved it to Google’s Blogger.  A primary reason for my move was the misguided thought that I was going to make real money with Google’s Adsense™.  Another year has passed and not a penny has been added to my Adsense account 😦 .

Christmas Starburst

MERRY CHRISTMAS 2009!

Blogger’s formatting leaves a bit to be desired, especially with regard to posting photographic images.  And most recently, I have discovered that Internet Explorer 8 and Blogger do not play well together.  While each has its warts, it is difficult to complain too loudly when both offer their platforms at no cost to the Blogger.  However, I have decided that the WordPress Blog will better suit my Blogging needs.

For those loyal “followers” on Google Blogger, I apologize, but hope you’ll bookmark my new site, or perhaps subscribe to its RSS feed.  For all of you who may think I am a bit schizophrenic – you may be right 🙂 .

Over the next few weeks, I will continue my series on my trip to Acadia National Park and Coastal Maine.

But this week, “Tis the season…………………………

Wednesday, I braved a very cold evening in Frankenmuth, Michigan, which derives most of its living in tourist trade, as Michigan’s “Little Bavaria.”  They go to great lengths to decorate the town and I have long wanted to photograph the lights at night.  Near the end of the evening, I was trying to shoot a grouping of 3 trees with different colored lights.  I just couldn’t get the composition I wanted, and the shots were, for lack of a better, technical description, BORING!

Knowing my “serious” photography for the evening was over, I used a zoom technique I hadn’t played with for 20 years.  Coloring outside the lines is what creative artists do well.  I struggle with that in the field, wanting my compositions to be technically well organized and exposed; and more to the point, traditional in their presentation.  While I will leave for you the judgment of whether I was successful, I liked the resulting image.

As Christmas Day approaches, and a difficult year comes to an end, I want to express my sincere wishes for a joyous holiday, with safe travels, families together, and a better 2010.  And, my sincere gratitude and best wishes to all our our military families — at home — and abroad who may not be able to be together over the holidays.  Merry Christmas and a Happy and prosperous New Year to all!

2 Responses

  1. The new “old” site looks great Andy. I enjoyed your zoom technique photo as well.
    Merry Christmas to you and your family and I wish you and your readers photographic successes in the new year.
    Carol

  2. Thanks Carol. Best wishes for the season to you and your family!

Leave a Reply

