• Andy’s E-BOOK — Photography Travel Guides

  • PLEASE RESPECT COPYRIGHTS!!

    All Images and writing on this blog are copyrighted by Andy Richards. All rights are reserved. You may not, without my express, written permission, download, right click, or otherwise copy my images for any reason. Copying an image and putting it on your blog, website, or even as a screensaver on your computer is a breach of copyright, EVEN IF YOU ATTRIBUTE THE SOURCE! Please do not do so.
  • On This Blog:

  • Categories

  • Andy’s Photography Galleries

    Click Here To See My Gallery of Photographic Images

    LightCentric Photography

  • Andy's Flickr Photos

    Key West, FL Southernmost Beach Resort 01102017000003

    More Photos
  • Prior Posts

  • Posts By Date

    June 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  

Photographs From My Alaska Cruise

Vancouver Waterfront copyright 2010 Andy Richards

My family and I just returned from a 7 day cruise in the Alaska Inner Passage.  This was a family vacation, which had been planned for some time.  It was not a dedicated photo trip, but we did plan the cruise to provide some opportunity for photography for me.  The other travelers, my wife, son and brother in law, are not dedicated to photo-only trips, and the cruise worked well, by providing other entertainment opportunities.

So, my photographic expectations were modest.  I hoped to bring home a few nice photographs.  The trip significantly surpassed my expectations.  Alaska abounds with wildlife and spectacular mountain and ocean views.  We were privileged to observe a number of them.  I will no doubt devote several blogs to the places and subjects I photographed during an eventful week.

Since returning late Sunday evening, I have been busily processing the approximately 4,000 images Icaptured during the week.  In the coming weeks, I will add galleries to my LightCentric Photography Website under Landscape, City Scapes, and Wildlife for Alaska and Canada.

Vancouver Island copyright 2010 Andy Richards

Our cruise started in Vancouver, British Columbia.  During the week, we also traveled into the Yukon and to Fraser, British Columbia.  This part of the Pacific Northwest and the Yukon yielded more spectacular views.

We arrived in Vancouver at noon on Friday, and had too little time to explore this beautiful city.  Our cruise ship, “The Diamond Princess” left Vancouver Harbor late Saturday afternoon, and we sailed through the night in Canadian waters in the inside passage.  Our departure from Vancouver presented some nice views of the Vancouver waterfront and across the bay, Vancouver Island.

Our first port of call destination was Ketchikan, Alaska.  I captured this shot at dusk as we left Vancouver Harbor and headed North in the inside passage.

Vancouver Sunset copyright 2010 Andy Richards

5 Responses

  1. Andy, I’m looking forward to seeing more photos. I took a similar cruise a few years ago, leaving from Vancouver and stopping in Juneau, Skagway and Ketchican. We cruised Tracy Arm and Glacier Bay. With the exception of one day, I had low hanging clouds and fog. Hope your weather was better.

    We enjoyed the ocean, mountains and wildlife too. Did you see whales? Seals? Moose? Don’t keep us in suspense, tell us more.

    Al

  2. Hi Andy, I’m thrilled for you that the trip exceeded your photo expectations. I’m with Al……I can’t wait to see more!

  3. Al: As you know from your own recent trip to Zion, the challenge is getting control over the 1000’s of images we take. I remember back in the day, taking my film to the local processor and then anxiously waiting a day or two to get my boxes of slides back. I would then sit by a large waste basket :-). Today, with digital, we have near-instant gratification.

    All and Carol: I haven’t been ready to upload anything yet, but spent the better part of Monday and Tuesday and Wednesday evenings working on web-ready images. Hope to post to my site by the weekend. I think, based on a suggestion by a friend, I will do one single Newly Added gallery and put all the AK images on their for a while. Eventually, I will migrate them to the their proper long-term categories.

    Al: Sounds like our cruises were similar. We went one-way, North from Vancouver to Whittier. Our stops were Ketchikan, Juneau, Skagway, Glacier Bay and College Fjiord. My one regret was not being able to work Sitka in. All in all, a pretty enjoyable time and a good way to get introduced to AK.

  4. Whittier is a pretty interesting town (although I found it spooky in the rain and fog! 🙂 ) – I stopped in there just before I flew home. Looking forward to seeing more pics Andy. That is such a spectacular area.

  5. Hi Mark: We cruised on Princess Cruise Lines and they have a terminal at Whittier, which is where we got off the ship. The tunnel is interesting. I was able to get a nice shot of the town from the ship before we got off. Hoping to get some stuff uploaded to my website this weekend. I’ll be posting some of the highlights here every week or so. I agree, it is an amazing photography venue.

Leave a Reply

