• Andy’s E-BOOK — Photography Travel Guides

  • PLEASE RESPECT COPYRIGHTS!!

    All Images and writing on this blog are copyrighted by Andy Richards. All rights are reserved. You may not, without my express, written permission, download, right click, or otherwise copy my images for any reason. Copying an image and putting it on your blog, website, or even as a screensaver on your computer is a breach of copyright, EVEN IF YOU ATTRIBUTE THE SOURCE! Please do not do so.
  • On This Blog:

  • Categories

  • Andy’s Photography Galleries

    Click Here To See My Gallery of Photographic Images

    LightCentric Photography

  • Andy's Flickr Photos

    Key West, FL Southernmost Beach Resort 01102017000003

    More Photos
  • Prior Posts

  • Posts By Date

    August 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  

Skagway Harbor

Skagway Harbor

We arrived in Skagway around 6:30 a.m. and were cleared to go ashore by 7:00.  Our family excursion on the White Pass Railroad was not until 12:30.  So while the other slept in and then had breakfast aboard, I was among the first passengers to leave the ship.

One thing that consistently impressed me was the small boat harbors in every one of our ports.  I grew up in a Lake Michigan town and have spent much of my life on and around small boats.  I have a natural draw to boats and harbors and find them photogenic.  Skagway harbor was no exception and was one of the most photogenic I have ever seen.  The clear flat water, colorful mix of pleasure and working boats, and the snow capped mountain background stimulated me to spend some time.  The harbor was on the way to the downtown.  I wanted to see the town (and I had learned that there was a Starbucks there!  Coffee on board was mediocre at best, so I was suffering from serious withdrawal symptoms by this time).  So I went downtown first, with a plan to spend some time down in the harbor on my return to the cruise ship.  On the way back to the ship, I spent an hour or so down on the docks in the harbor.

Skagway Harbor

4 Responses

  1. Really beautiful Andy. Your decision to get up and out early really paid off for you.

  2. Thanks, Carol. Always appreciate your views.

  3. Hey big man…..you really work your rear end off to get these blogs out. Just wanted you to know, it’s not in vain. You are a real pro at what you do and it is being noticed

    • Thanks, bud. I appreciate that it is being noticed. I guess I wouldn’t do it if I though I was the only one interested :-). But it really doesn’t feel like work at all. Its so much fun that its pretty easy to get lost in it. Sometimes “life” gets in the way and things bog down for a while. But mostly I stay with it because it turns me on. As always, I appreciate your comments and for those others who may read this, go look at Rich’s site! He’s got some dynamite images there.

Leave a Reply

