• Andy’s E-BOOK — Photography Travel Guides

  • PLEASE RESPECT COPYRIGHTS!!

    All Images and writing on this blog are copyrighted by Andy Richards. All rights are reserved. You may not, without my express, written permission, download, right click, or otherwise copy my images for any reason. Copying an image and putting it on your blog, website, or even as a screensaver on your computer is a breach of copyright, EVEN IF YOU ATTRIBUTE THE SOURCE! Please do not do so.
  • On This Blog:

  • Categories

  • Andy’s Photography Galleries

    Click Here To See My Gallery of Photographic Images

    LightCentric Photography

  • Andy's Flickr Photos

    Key West, FL Southernmost Beach Resort 01102017000003

    More Photos
  • Prior Posts

  • Posts By Date

    October 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031

Working At “Creative” Photography

Farm On Burton Hill Road, Barton, VT

I am a mechanic.  I like equipment, software, techniques and guidelines for good composition.  I have to work at the creative side of my photography and often marvel at the “eye” for composition others have, “seeing” things I completely missed.  I find traveling to new or different venues for photography gets my creative “juices” flowing.  I always get excited planning for a photo excursion, researching the location, deciding which equipment to take, where to stay, etc.  But I am admittedly a gear head, putting heavy emphasis on tripods, lenses, maps, software, etc.

This October, as I planned my trip to Vermont, it occurred to me that I was missing something.  I solicited advice from a pro who is an artist as much as a photographer.  I wanted to know how to mentally prepare myself for the creative side of photography for the trip.  I borrowed what he suggested were the two most important principles he considers when going into the

Sunrise Over Pond, Barton, VT

field, adapted and internalized them in my own way:  (1) Let the light dictate the image; and (2) Make the image your own creative process.

These images are characterized, in my view, by unique light, and I hope by my own unique creative style.

Sunrise and fog often work together to create an ephemeral, almost “high key” look that is, at the same time, pastel.

Foggy sunrise, Jordan Farm, Bakersfield Vermont

I think early morning light from the pre-dawn alpenglow to just after sunrise is among the best quality light available.

Another time when the quality of light is always surprising  and presents presents unique opportunities is when the whether is changing.  The light on this farm on “Cloudland Road” near Woodstock, Vermont happened suddenly and unexpectedly.  We had been photographing all day long with clear blue skies and as we arrived on Cloudland Road the sky was suddenly gray behind the late day sun.

Farm on Cloudland Road, Woodstock, VT

The last, waning light of the day often yields surprises, especially in geographic regions like the Green Mountains, which create modeling shadows. This barn on theLower Pleasant Valley Road in Cambridge, Vermont is partly lit and partly in shadow, but it is the late afternoon sunlight on Mt. Mansfield in the background that creates drama in the image in my view.

Lower Pleasant Valley Road, Cambridge, VT

2 Responses

  1. Sweeeeeeettttttt!!!! Way to go big boy…..all “different” and exciting to see…not your ordinary foliage color shots/

Leave a Reply

