• Andy’s E-BOOK — Photography Travel Guides

  • PLEASE RESPECT COPYRIGHTS!!

    All Images and writing on this blog are copyrighted by Andy Richards. All rights are reserved. You may not, without my express, written permission, download, right click, or otherwise copy my images for any reason. Copying an image and putting it on your blog, website, or even as a screensaver on your computer is a breach of copyright, EVEN IF YOU ATTRIBUTE THE SOURCE! Please do not do so.
  • On This Blog:

  • Categories

  • Andy’s Photography Galleries

    Click Here To See My Gallery of Photographic Images

    LightCentric Photography

  • Andy's Flickr Photos

  • Prior Posts

  • Posts By Date

    November 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  

Vermont Villages and Commons

Craftsbury Common, Craftsbury, Vermont

The “draw” to Vermont (and indeed, New England) for me as a photographer includes its signature quaint villages, often replete with park-like commons in the central part of the village, surrounded by churches, post offices, courthouses, and town halls. This image of Craftsbury Common is illustrative.  However, what is fun and interesting about traveling around the state is that, while each Vermont village and common has a distinctive “New England feel,” each is also unique.

One of the most impressive I have visited is the town of Strafford.  Unfortunately, I reached this picturesque Vermont village well after peak foliage, and on a dreary day.  Knowing it would be many years before I could return, I spent a few moments photographing memories, anyway.  I could only imagine the images resulting from those large stately Maples around the Meeting House and along the Common in full Fall foliage!

Strafford Common

Village of Plymouth, Vermont

The Village of Plymouth, near the top of the Plymouth Notch, the homestead of President Calvin Coolidge, is now a State historical Park.  There is no common at this village, but it still has the quintessential “Vermont” village feel to it.

Townsend Common, Townsend, Vermont

The Common in Townsend is another example of a “Vermont” village common, with with church, school, gazebo and park.  It sits in the middle of the village, with businesses across the streets surrounding it.  Warm weather monts often see farmers markets and craft shows on the Common.  We visited on a Thursday evening and families, children and dogs played and relaxed on the Common.

Newfane Common, Newfane, Vermont

Vermont is saturated with great Commons and Villages.  Stowe, Woodstock and Nanchester are perhaps among the most famous (but also perhap the most commercial).  Smaller, more picturesque villages include Jeffersonville, Grafton, Chester, Townsend, Weston, Craftsbury, Arlington, Sharon, Brandon and South Royalton, among many others.  However, my hands down favorite is Newfane.  The Newfane Common includes historic buildings including a Union Hall, Church and the Windsor County Courhouse, all nestled in a small, u-shaped Common.  The main road passes by the common, but a u-shaped drive sweeps around in front of the Union Hall and Church, behind the County Courthouse and back to the main street.  There are small neighborhood homes behind, and the main business district on the main street to the North of the Common.  We were there during the Newfane Fall Foliage Festival, so it was difficult to get a “clean” photograph of the Common or surrounding buildings.

Windham County Courthouse, Newfane, Vermont

I am sure that I will continue my focus on these villages, commons and traditional New England architecture with each new visit to Vermont and to any other New England states.

6 Responses

  1. You were the last person I would expect to copy photos from Vermont Life and try to pass them off as yours 🙂

    • Ha Ha, Phil. :-). If they want them back I am on that! Actually, after many years, I subscribed again to VT Life a couple years back. I was so disappointed in what I thought was a substantial downword slide in its quality (primarily the content and photos) that I dumped it.

  2. Hi Andy:
    Boy, these shots really take me back… I can almost feel the crisp air. All in all, looks like you were pretty good with your timing and hit the foliage pretty much just right.
    And, on the contrary, I like your view of Strafford with the stormy sky.. it’s a somewhat more realistic view of the area, actually. Short of pouring rain or blowing snow, I always hope for unsettled weather when I travel somewhere… the soft light and deep colors always get me inspired.
    I really enjoyed looking through your gallery of work from this trip…

    • Mark: Glad I could give you a little “blast from the past.” Thanks for your kind words. I envy the numerous friends I have who could make a weekend trip up their. I would be doing it often!

  3. Nice work, as always, Andy. I’ve been plotting a fall trip to New England for years…maybe 2011 will see it happen.

    • Thanks, Kerry. If you do, we’ll have to compare notes — before, so I can give you some “local” info, and especially after, as I am sure your vision will bring back some great stuff.

Leave a Reply

