• Andy’s E-BOOK — Photography Travel Guides

  • PLEASE RESPECT COPYRIGHTS!!

    All Images and writing on this blog are copyrighted by Andy Richards. All rights are reserved. You may not, without my express, written permission, download, right click, or otherwise copy my images for any reason. Copying an image and putting it on your blog, website, or even as a screensaver on your computer is a breach of copyright, EVEN IF YOU ATTRIBUTE THE SOURCE! Please do not do so.
  • On This Blog:

  • Categories

  • Andy’s Photography Galleries

    Click Here To See My Gallery of Photographic Images

    LightCentric Photography

  • Andy's Flickr Photos

  • Prior Posts

  • Posts By Date

    July 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031

Photographers Are Patriotic!

Copyright 2011 Andy Richards

Last night one of the ubiquitous 24-hour news cycles with nothing more meritorious to report, instead reported on an inane study that somebody at a major U.S. university wasted time, talent and no doubt money on, suggesting that the more often we take our children to 4th of July celebrations, the more likely they are to vote Republican.

Seriously?? Like I said, I-N-A-N-E.

I won’t even speculate on the science or methodology of the “study,” because the very fact that somebody did it is so ridiculous. Can we—just for one day—put the politics which inundate every instant of our being, and dominate every broadcast hour of the so-called “news” media, aside and all of us, whatever our politics, religion, color, creed, belief system, celebrate together the birthday of a great nation which is based on the very diversity that we have become so unreasonably polarized about? I’d like that.  End of rant 🙂

Copyright 2010 Andy Richards

By the way, I do believe Photographers are Patriotic. How can we not be? The symbols of our nation and its celebration of independence are universally photogenic. At its most basic form, photography is about light, form and color. How can we resist the bright and contrasty, red-white-and-blue of the American Flag with its white stars? So, hackneyed as it might be, I found myself taking images of the flag that waves from my front porch this morning.  And I know this lighthouse has been up here before, but fireworks are a staple of 4th of July celebrations accross the country.  This was shot on 4th of July weekend last summer.  And, of course, the national bird, the Eagle, is exciting to see and shoot when the opportunity arises.

Wishing all Americans a happy and healthy 4th!

Copyright 2010 Andy Richards

4 Responses

  1. Andy, it’s a good thing we were able to shoot Split Rock with its fireworks last year. This year all of Minnesota’s state parks are closed because our legislature and governor can’t agree on a budget. Our Democrat governor wants to raise taxes and spend more. Our Republican legislature wants to cut spending and not raise taxes. But, enough of politics.

    Have a great 4th. Let’s celebrate our freedoms.

    Al

  2. Heard that on the news, Al. I was thinking Rich got out of Dodge just about the right time!

    Does closed mean you cannot even hike in? Bummer. Rich and I are still tentatively planning a late summer or very early fall U.P. trip. Maybe you’ll have to join us there 🙂

  3. Hi Andy,
    I think you’re right about photographers being patriotic. In fact, remember my portfolio project last year which I chose Family Farms as my topic? Well, my good friend Nancy is doing her portfolio this year……guess the theme she chose????????……..Yup…….Patriotism! So, your blog sure makes sense to me. I will forward it to her!
    Hi Al!!!!! I just read about the Minnesota State park closures. I hope they can get their act together soon out there for you.
    Happy 4th of July to both of you!!!!!!! 🙂
    Carol

  4. Back atcha Carol! Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

