• Andy’s E-BOOK — Photography Travel Guides

  • PLEASE RESPECT COPYRIGHTS!!

    All Images and writing on this blog are copyrighted by Andy Richards. All rights are reserved. You may not, without my express, written permission, download, right click, or otherwise copy my images for any reason. Copying an image and putting it on your blog, website, or even as a screensaver on your computer is a breach of copyright, EVEN IF YOU ATTRIBUTE THE SOURCE! Please do not do so.
  • On This Blog:

  • Categories

  • Andy’s Photography Galleries

    Click Here To See My Gallery of Photographic Images

    LightCentric Photography

  • Andy's Flickr Photos

  • Prior Posts

  • Posts By Date

    October 2014
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  

My Eclectic Fall Color Shooting Season – Part I

Hiawatha NF Color Sections Michigan U.P. Copyright 2012  Andy Richards

Hiawatha NF Color Sections
Michigan U.P.
Copyright 2012 Andy Richards

As often happens this time of year, I have been MIA for a while.  This is a normal travel time for me, and the weekend days I spend “curating” images, posting to websites, and writing blogs are take with travel and often little time to reflect and write.  But it recharges my proverbial batteries and I usually come back with some material to post and write here.  And so, it will be for the next couple weeks.  I took a 4 day trip to the San Francisco Bay area with a number of photographic opportunities.  I have made a couple trips to Northern Michigan to seek and shoot Fall foliage and will have a few images and comments there.  And I have finally had some time behind some of my new gear, and will devote a blog or two to review of the Sony a7R and Sony 70-200 f4 combo and a set of tripod legs from Sirui.

I always look forward to late September with some excitement. No matter what kind of a shooting year I have had up until that time, I know I will have some opportunity for serious photographic endeavor during the next 2-3 weeks. As my blog has illustrated, I always have some kind of travel/photography planned for this time of year, more often than not, a fall-foliage oriented destination like New England, West Virginia, the Michigan Upper Peninsula (the UP), or the West. But not every year. This year, as in 2011, I traveled to California. With its consistent, temperate climate, there is no fall foliage there. But there are nice things to shoot, so that is a consolation.

Barn, Harrison, MI Copyright  2014  Andy Richards

Barn, Harrison, MI
Copyright 2014 Andy Richards

Even in those years when I travel elsewhere, I try to find some fall foliage imagery wherever I can. This year, I will have just a couple of weekend days to photograph.

"Backyard" Foliage Saginaw, MI Copyright  2014  Andy Richards

“Backyard” Foliage
Saginaw, MI
Copyright 2014 Andy Richards

Knowing that, on Columbus Day weekend, I headed north from Saginaw early on a Sunday morning, with my best friend, and photographic buddy, Rich, in search of some foliage-oriented subjects. We did not have a plan, just a general area, in which neither of us had ever done any photography. We shot what we found.

Foliage;  Gladwin, MI Copyright 2014  Andy Richards

Foliage; Gladwin, MI
Copyright 2014 Andy Richards

 

Our first subject was in Gladwin, Michigan, a small berg, just a few miles north of Saginaw. Here, we found a nice red barn with a cluster of red out buildings, backed by some early fall foliage.

Round Bales in Foliage Harrison, MI Copyright 2014  Andy Richards

Round Bales in Foliage
Harrison, MI
Copyright 2014 Andy Richards

Since Mid-Michigan is not really known for its grand-landscape scenery, you have to really work to find images. We did actually find “Podunk,” however – it apparently actually exists J   Next , some images made  in Northern Lower Michigan in an area I have always wanted to explore and photograph.  and — sadly — the last chance for foliage imagery for 2014.

Leave a Reply

