• Andy’s E-BOOK — Photography Travel Guides

  • PLEASE RESPECT COPYRIGHTS!!

    All Images and writing on this blog are copyrighted by Andy Richards. All rights are reserved. You may not, without my express, written permission, download, right click, or otherwise copy my images for any reason. Copying an image and putting it on your blog, website, or even as a screensaver on your computer is a breach of copyright, EVEN IF YOU ATTRIBUTE THE SOURCE! Please do not do so.
  • On This Blog:

  • Categories

  • Andy’s Photography Galleries

    Click Here To See My Gallery of Photographic Images

    LightCentric Photography

  • Andy's Flickr Photos

  • Prior Posts

  • Posts By Date

    July 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031

Ebbs and Flows; 1998 – 2000

Iris Fuji Sensia II Copyright Andy Richards 1999

Iris
Fuji Sensia II
Copyright Andy Richards 1998

My thinking at the time was that after 1997, it would be some time before I had another year like that.  And, until starting in about 2004, it seemed like that was the pattern.  I went several years without much memorable production.  But still, most years, there were keepers in my archives.  While I did get out some over the next 5 years, there were no real dedicated photo excursions.

Day Lily Fuji Velvia (40) Copyright Andy Richards 1999

Day Lily
Fuji Velvia (40)
Copyright Andy Richards 1998

I did ramp up my bird shooting.  I found a raptor rehabilitation center in southern Michigan that sponsored captive bird photo shoots to raise money for its programs.  I attended several of these and had an opportunity to photograph birds that I would likely never be able to get close enough in nature to shoot.  Two of these birds had injuries significant enough that they would never be released.  The Red Tailed Hawk and the Great Horned Owl were both “regulars,” used to being handled and shot by photographers, and pretty easy to shoot.  The Red Tail even had some personality.  These were fun events, and an opportunity to shoot with other photographers and compare notes.

Nikon N90s Tokina 80-400 Fuji Velvia 50 Exposure data not recorded Birds, Vol. 2

Fuji Velvia 50
Copyright Andy Richards 1998

Nikon F100 Tokina 300mm Fuji Sensia II 100 Exposure data not recorded Birds, Vol. 2

Fuji Sensia II 100
Copyright Andy Richards 1998

Nikon N90s Tokina 80-400 Kodachrome 25 Exposure Data not recorded Birds, Vol. 2

Kodachrome 25
Copyright Andy Richards 1998

Willet in Flight Nags Head, NC Copyright Andy Richards 1998

Willet in Flight
Nags Head, NC
Copyright Andy Richards 1998

Downy Woodpecker Copyright Andy Richards 1998

Downy Woodpecker
Copyright Andy Richards 1998

Black Capped Chickadee Copyright Andy Richards 1998

Black Capped Chickadee
Copyright Andy Richards 1998

The Black Capped Chickadee species became a special favorite.  Michigan’s state bird has always been the Robin (my friend, Phil Dolinger’s absolute favorite bird species.  Everything looks like a Robin to Phil 🙂 ).  But for a period of time, there was a movement to re-designate the state bird to the Black Capped Chickadee.  Found throughout the state, this little bird is a very gregarious species and has virtually no fear of humans.  I have had them land on my hand (as the photo here demonstrates).  They are active, colorful, and a fun subject to study and shoot.  The two with the bird on the branch were both taken through my office window during the winter months.  Unfortunately, with a glass window along with my mediocre Tokina 80-400 lens, they are not as sharp as could be.  Indeed most of my avian images suffer from a lack of critical sharpness.  I am never going to compete with Arthur Morris.  :-).

Black Capped Chickadee Copyright Andy Richards 1998

Black Capped Chickadee
Copyright Andy Richards 1998

Black Capped Chickadee Copyright Andy Richards 1998

Black Capped Chickadee
Copyright Andy Richards 1998

White day lily Fuji Velvia (40) Copyright Andy Richards 1998

White day lily
Fuji Velvia (40)
Copyright Andy Richards 1998

Flowers continued to continued to be a frequent subject, even getting more creative in some instances, with more closeup shooting. In the case of the white day lily, I was specifically interested in the rain droplets.  I also ventured out of the backyard and into some natual areas, with a series of wildflowers.  In may of 1999, I did a quick weekend trip, following a business meeting in northern Michigan, to shoot the state wildflower, the White Trillium.  Along the way, I also found Pink and Yellow Lady’s Slippers, Columbine, Swamp Iris and others.

Nikon N90s Tokina 300mm Kodak Elite Chrome II f5.6; 1/60; fill flash -1.7 Flowers, Vol. 2, #32

Kodak Elite Chrome II
Copyright Andy Richards 1999

Nikon F100 Nikkor 60mm Micro (2x) Kodak E100SW Flowers, Vol. 2, #72

Kodak E100SW
Copyright Andy Richards 1999

Nikon F100 Kodak E100SW f8; 1/60, fill flash -1.3 Flowers, Vol. 2, #87

Kodak E100SW
Copyright Andy Richards 1999

Nikon F100 Nikkor 60mm Micro (2x) Fuji Sensia II 100 f8; 1/13 sec.; fill flash -1.3 Flowers, Vol. 3, #5

Fuji Sensia II 100
Copyright Andy Richards 1999

Nikon F100 Kodak Elite Chrome 100 exposure data not recorded Flowers Vol. 3

Kodak Elite Chrome 100
Copyright Andy Richards 1999

When he was younger, my son and I did a late summer, annual camping trip.  I don’t know what it is about sleeping out in a tent.  When I was a kid, I loved it.  As an adult — not so much.  But it was father and son time.  This year, we camped in a National Forest campground in lower Michigan’s Huron National Forest, near a small lake named Horseshoe Lake (one of many so-named lakes in the country).  Waking early, stiff from a cold, damp morning and lumpy ground, I got up and built a fire.  My son had no problem sleeping, and while I waited for him to wake up, I wandered down to the shore with my gear, to take some sunrise photos.  When the image here showed up on the light table, my first thought was “oops.”  On closer inspection, this shot seemed to have some potential.  It became my second best selling image.  The Velvia film used for this image had a tendency toward blue color cast in conditions like the ones that morning.

Horseshoe Lake Fuji Velvia Copyright Andy Richards 1999

Horseshoe Lake
Fuji Velvia
Copyright Andy Richards 1999

Leave a Reply

