• Andy’s E-BOOK — Photography Travel Guides

  • PLEASE RESPECT COPYRIGHTS!!

    All Images and writing on this blog are copyrighted by Andy Richards. All rights are reserved. You may not, without my express, written permission, download, right click, or otherwise copy my images for any reason. Copying an image and putting it on your blog, website, or even as a screensaver on your computer is a breach of copyright, EVEN IF YOU ATTRIBUTE THE SOURCE! Please do not do so.
  • On This Blog:

  • Categories

  • Andy’s Photography Galleries

    Click Here To See My Gallery of Photographic Images

    LightCentric Photography

  • Andy's Flickr Photos

  • Prior Posts

  • Posts By Date

    October 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  

Newport, Rhode Island; a new part of New England (for me)

Castle Hill Lighthouse Newport, RI Copyright Andy Richards 2016

Castle Hill Lighthouse
Newport, RI
Copyright Andy Richards 2016

My best buddy and photographic cohort, Rich, recently invited me to join him for 3 days in Newport, Rhode Island.  Three days isn’t very long, but I am pretty sure we hit the high points.  My initial takeaway was that Newport is a great place to visit.  Lots to do and see.  But it is not a photographers’ destination like Vermont, Maine and New Hampshire are.  However, as I began to “curate” my images, I found more than I had originally thought that were worthy of post-processing, and a number of them will go in my SmugMug LightCentric Photography site.  I have completed about 80% of my post processing and I am pretty sure that if I had to choose one “keeper” image from the trip, it is the opening Castle Hill Light image here.  We researched and scouted the light a couple times before arriving there on Friday afternoon, where we set up and waited on the sunset.

If I had to choose one “keeper” image from the trip, it is the opening Castle Hill Light image above

Rich was in Newport for a week for a convention put on by one of his primary business vendors.  I joined him Wednesday night, but he had events to attend until about noon on Thursday.  So, after scouting the Castle Hill light on Wednesday night, I wandered around the “downtown” Newport harbor area Thursday morning.  I found a lot to shoot.

Castle Hill Lighthouse Newport, RI Copyright Andy Richards 2016

Castle Hill Lighthouse
Newport, RI
Copyright Andy Richards 2016

I have picked up a habit of doing my walking/wandering in cities carrying only my Sony RX100.  I shoot everything handheld.  I continue to be ecstatic about the results this powerful little camera gives me.  When shooting with the big camera during this trip, I shot the RX100 side by side on numerous occasions, and I am hard pressed to distinguish a significant IQ difference between the two!  The first Castle Hill shot is with my Sony a7 “full frame,” with my Sony 70-200 on a sturdy tripod.  The second image is the RX100 handheld.  The only difference is that it was shot earlier in the afternoon.  I could easily have mounted it on the tripod and shot at a slower shutter speed, and captured a similarly lit lighthouse.

After scouting the Castle Hill light the first night, we stopped at Brenton Cove, on the way back to the hotel, to shoot some sunset images.  Good plan.  The only problem was it had been raining and cloudy all day and we weren’t very likely to get a sunset.  But we stopped anyway, and decided that this beautiful little boat harbor had to be a place to do an early morning shoot sometime during the trip.  As daylight faded, we saw the lights on the Newport Bridge, spanning from Jamestown Island into Newport.  In spite of cloud layers, things suddenly lit up behind the clouds just enough to capture the image below.

Brenton Cove Newport, RI Copyright Andy Richards 2016

Brenton Cove
Newport, RI
Copyright Andy Richards 2016

The next day, Rich had to attend presentations, so I would walk around the downtown and harbor area of Newport.  Next week’s blog will showcase some of the images I captured during the morning.

 

2 Responses

  1. Next, you’ll just be shooting with your smartphone. heh!

  2. Well, never say never :-). But I am still just “old school” enough that the viewfinder on my small cam is important and a small cam without one is still a deal breaker for me

Leave a Reply

